2019 winners of the Australian Awards for Excellence in Women's Leadership 

Jamila Rizvi

Women & Leadership Australia is proud to announce the winners of the annual Australian Awards for Excellence in Women’s Leadership. 

Journalist, broadcaster, advocate and author Tracey Spicer AM (pictured above) has won the National Award for Excellence in Women’s Leadership, and will receive her award at the Australian Women's Leadership Symposium in Canberra on the 18th of June.

The 2019 state and territory winners are as follows: 

The awards are presented to recipients at the Australian Women’s Leadership Symposium, which are held annually in every state and territory in Australia. Created in 2014 and nominated by members of the WLA community, the underlying purpose of the awards is to increase visibility and momentum for the push for Australian women to receive equitable access to leadership positions across all industries and the broader community. 

Previous recipients of the National Award include The Hon. Julia Gillard, The Hon. Dame Quentin Bryce AD CVO, Elizabeth Broderick AO, Ann Sherry AO, and Gail Kelly.

Suzi Finkelstein, Director of Leadership and Advocacy at Women & Leadership Australia, said of the awards: “These prestigious awards are designed to recognise women who work hard to lead their industry, and then make every effort to bring other women with them." 

Of Tracey Spicer AM being awarded the National Award this year, Suzi said: “Tracey’s sustained commitment to advancing gender equality in Australia’s media industry is both admirable and inspirational. She is a proud advocate for all women and we are so honoured that she will accept this award on stage at our Canberra Symposium.” 

Previous award winners

Join us in congratulating our winners on Facebook, tweet us or share on LinkedIn. You can also check out our YouTube channel.​